Home ARTS & CULTURE Miss USA R’Bonney Makes History As She Emerges 71st Miss Universe

Miss USA R’Bonney Makes History As She Emerges 71st Miss Universe

by InlandTown Editor
0 comment
Miss Universe 2022

R’Bonney Gabriel of the United States was crowned as Miss Universe 2022 by the 70th Miss Universe Harnaaz Sandhu of India after beating 83 other contestants.

In first and second place at the Miss Universe 2022 include; Miss Venezuela 2021, Amanda Dudamel- 1st Runner-up; Miss Dominican Republic 2021, Andreina Martinez- 2nd Runner-up.

The 71st Miss Universe pageant was held at the New Orleans Morial Convention Center in New Orleans, Louisiana, United States on January 14, 2023.

R’Bonney’s emergence as the winner of the pageant is the United States’ first victory in 10 years, and the ninth victory of the country which also stands as the most to be received by any country in the pageant’s history.

She is the first Filipino-American to be crowned Miss USA after she faced off with 50 other contestants to emerge as the winner of the pageant on October 3rd, 2022.

She is also the oldest to win the competition at age 28.


R’Bonney is an eco-friendly fashion designer, model, and sewing instructor born in Houston, Texas to a Filipino father and an American mother.

Miss Universe 2022, R'Bonney Gabriel

The Official Portrait of Miss Universe 2022, R’Bonney Gabriel

R’Bonney’s mission as the 71st Miss Universe is for women and young girls to see themselves in her, and feel inspired to conquer their goals by owning who they are.

Contestants from 84 countries and territories competed in the competition. Eighteen of these delegates were appointed to their positions after being runner-up in their national pageant or being selected through a casting process.

The 71st edition of the grand pageant saw Bhutan make its debut appearance at the show and the returns of Seychelles, Switzerland, Trinidad, and Tobago, and Uruguay.

Seychelles previously competed in 1995, making this edition its first time competing after an absence of 27 years. Trinidad and Tobago last competed in 2017, Kyrgyzstan, Lebanon, and Switzerland last competed in 2018, Angola and Saint Lucia last competed in 2019, and the others last competed in 2020.

Meanwhile, Denmark, Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Kenya, Morocco, Romania, and Sweden withdrew after their respective organizations failed to hold a national competition or appoint a delegate.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More