Home NEWS Buhari Inaugurates NNPC Board; Margret Chuba-Okadigbo Leads Office

Buhari Inaugurates NNPC Board; Margret Chuba-Okadigbo Leads Office

by InlandTown Editor
0 comment

President Muhammadu Buhari has appointed Margret Chuba Okadigbo as the new Chairman of the board and management of the Nigerian National Petroleum Company Limited.

The Special Adviser to the President on Media and Publicity, Mister Femi Adesina, in a statement issued on Wednesday noted that it is in accordance with the power vested in the President under Section 59(2) of the Petroleum Industry Act 2021.

The statement further revealed that the appointment takes effect from the date of the incorporation of NNPC Limited. Margret Chuba Okadigbo who is the wife of late former Senate President, Dr Chuba Okadigbo replaces Senator Ifeanyi Ararume who was appointed four months ago. A lawyer by profession from University of Nigeria, Enugu campus, Margret has been in the political space since 2015 when she was elected into the 8th National Assembly representing Anambra North, a position her late husband, Chuba Okadigbo once held before his passing. Recall that late Dr. Chuba Okadigbo, was running mate to Muhammadu Buhari in 2003 on the platform of All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP), before going to the Senate.

ALSO READ: Dr Nkechi Udeze lauds Anambra State Library Board for its achievements

Other members of the board include Mele Kolo Kyari, as Chief Executive Officer, and Umar I. Ajiya, as Chief Financial Officer. Other members of the board include; Dr Tajudeen Umar (North East), Mrs Lami O. Ahmed (North Central), Mallam Mohammed Lawal (North West), Engr. Henry Obih (South East), Barrister Constance Harry Marshal (South-South), and Chief Pius Akinyelure (South West).

Also appointed are Executive Commissioners of the Nigerian Upstream Petroleum Regulatory Commission. They are Dr Nuhu Habib (Kano), Executive Commissioner, Development and Production, Dr Kelechi Onyekachi Ofoegbu (Imo), Executive Commissioner, Economic Regulations and Strategic Planning, Capt. Tonlagha Roland John (Delta), Executive Commissioner, Health, Safety, Environment and Community, and Jide Adeola (Kogi), Executive Commissioner, Corporate Services and Administration.

Earlier appointed were the Board Chairman, CEO, Executive Commissioner, Exploration and Acreage Management, and Executive Commissioner, Finance and Accounts.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More