Home NEWS Bianca Ojukwu, Charly Boy make Soludo’s 15-man Peace Committee

Bianca Ojukwu, Charly Boy make Soludo’s 15-man Peace Committee

by InlandTown Editor
0 comment

The Governor of Anambra state, Prof. Chukwuma Soludo promised to set up  a committee aimed at bringing peace to the state, a promise that has now been fulfilled.

The State Government has now constituted the 15-member Committee on Truth, Justice and Peace. Governor Soludo said the committee was set up to enable the state government to interface and dialogue with various agitators and to allow peace to return to the region.

On Wednesday, a statement by the Secretary to the State Government, Prof. Solo Chukwulobelu spoke about the committee. The statement explained that the purpose of the committee is to seek a restorative justice approach for truth-telling or real facts, for the healing of the victims of the violence.

The committee will account for the responsibility and accountability of the actors, conditional mercy for the repentant perpetrators, restitution for certain losses and rehabilitation of the perpetrators, for the overall aim of restoration of peace and justice as well as the promotion of development in the State. With the focus going beyond Anambra state, possibly covering the entire South-East.

The statement read out the Terms of Reference for the Committee as follows

  • To identify the remote and immediate causes of the agitations, restiveness, violence, and armed struggle in the South East since 1999
  • Document victims/circumstances of death, brutality and incarceration”
  • Identify stakeholders and groups who have played critical roles in the agitations and conflicts, their roles, capabilities and demands.”

READ MORE: Charles Soludo Attends Prayer Session , Says No More Sit-At-Home

  • Address any other issue(s) that may be germane to unraveling the extent of the crisis and charting the road map for the future.”
  • Make recommendations for sustainable peace and security in Anambra state/South-East.”

“With its preliminary report due no later than two months after the sunset and the final report after two months of receiving feedback on the preliminary report from the government. The committee shall be inaugurated on a date to be communicated to its members,” The committee’s statement read.

The Committee will also have a direct reporting line to the Governor or his designee, and will be provided with administrative support. Though the statement explains that the Committee will be free to draw up the methodology to accomplish its assignment.

The special committee includes Professor Chidi Odinkalu as its Chairman and Ambassador Bianca Ojukwu as the Secretary. Other members include Dr. Joe Nwaorgu, Dr. Udenta Udenta, Dr. Uju Agomoh, Rev. Fr Jerome Madueke, Canon Dr. Okechukwu C. Obi-Okoye; Mr. Charles Oputa (Charly Boy); Dr. John Otu, Mr. Ngozi Odumuko; Ms Onyeka Onwenu; Dr. Joe Abah; Mr. Chukwuma Okpalaezeukwu; Mr. Sam Egwuatu and Prof. Joseph Ikechebelu.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More