Home ENTERTAINMENTAWARDS AMVCA 2022: See Full List of Award Winners Here

AMVCA 2022: See Full List of Award Winners Here

by InlandTown Editor
0 comment

It was a night of big wins at the 8th edition of the Africa Magic Viewers Choice Awards (AMVCA) held on Saturday night, at the Eko Convention Centre, Lagos.

The annual award show set up by Multichoice, celebrates outstanding achievement in television and film across Africa. This year’s award show was hosted by Nigeria’s IK Osakioduwa and South Africa’s Bonang Matheba.

Following a two year hiatus due to the pandemic, the award show returned with a bang with performances from D Banj, Yemi Alade, Nigerian Idols contestants and a surprise collaboration, Rema and Lagbaja.

Big winners on the night include Rattlesnake – The Ahanna Story and Amina with four AMVCA honors each. Furthermore, the legendary Taiwo Ajai-Lycett (OON) was awarded the AMVCA industry Merit award, honoring her lifetime contribution to the development of African cinema. Fast rising actress, Teni Aladese also won the AMVCA Trailblazer award; which celebrates outstanding achievement by a young and upcoming act.

Here’s a full list of winners from AMVCA 2022

Best Actor in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)

Stan Nze in Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Actress in a Drama (Movie/TV Series)

Osas Ighodaro in Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Actor in a Comedy

Samuel Perry (Broda Shaggi) in Dwindle

Best Actress in a Comedy

Funke Akindele in Omo Ghetto (The Saga)

Best Supporting Actor (Movie/TV Series)

Odunlade Adekola in Jankariwo

Best Supporting Actress (Movie/TV Series)

Omowunmi Dada in Country Hard

Best Director (Movie)

Ramsey Nouah for Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story


Best Overall Movie 

Amina by Izu Ojukwu & Okey Ogunjiofor

Best Short Film or Online Video

I Am The Prostitute Mama Described by Taiwo Ogunnimo

Best Online Social Content Creator

Oga Sabinus/Mr Funny

Best Africa Magic Original Drama Series

The Rishantes by Dimbo Atiya

Best Africa Magic Original Comedy Series

The Johnsons by Rogers Ofime

Best Indigenous Language Movie or Series (Hausa)

Voiceless by Rogers Ofime

Best Indigenous Language Movie or Series (Igbo)

Nne-ka by Uche Nnanna Maduka

Best Indigenous Language Movie or Series (Yoruba)

Alaise by David Akande, Demola Yusuf and Edgard Leroy

Best Indigenous Language Movie or TV Series (Swahili)

Obambo by Freddy Feruzi

Best Soundtrack (Movie/TV Series)

Gold Coast Lounge by Pascal Aka & Raquel (From Ghana)

Best Movie – West Africa

Collision Course by Bolanle Austen-Peters, Joseph Umoibom & James Amuta

Best Movie – East Africa

The Girl In The Yellow Jumper by Morocco Omari


Best Movie – Southern Africa

Hairareb by Dantagos Jimmy-Melani

Best Documentary

If Objects Could Speak by Saitabao Kaiyare, Mumo Liku, Elena Schilling, Daniella Fritz and Ann Katrina Boberg

Best TV series – Drama or Comedy

The Mystic River by Rogers Ofime

Best Cinematographer

Muhammad Attah for his work in Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story

Best Picture Editor

Tunde Apalowo for his work in Maria Ebun Pataki

Best Art Director (Movie/TV Series)

Tunji Afolayan for Amina

Best Lightning Designer (Movie/TV Series)

Matthew Yusuf for his work in Rattlesnake: The Ahanna Story


Best Makeup

Balogun Abiodun for her work in Omo Ghetto (The Saga)

Best Writer (Movie/TV Series)

Manie Oisomaye, Donald Tombia and Biodun Stephen for Introducing The Kujus

Industry Merit Award

Taiwo Ajayi-Lycett (OON)

Best Sound Editor (Movie/TV Series)

Jim Lively and James Nelson for their work in Amina

Best Costume Designer (Movie/TV Series)

Millicent T. Jack for Amina

Best Multichoice Talent Factory

Daisy Masembe for Engaito

Related Articles

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More